Our Dean and Board

Our Dean

As Dean, Dr Ellen Crushell is responsible for overseeing all matters of the Faculty with the support of the Faculty Board and Committees.  She represents the Faculty of Paediatrics on the RCPI Council and on other national and international bodies.

Dr Ellen Crushell

Dean of the Faculty of Paediatrics

Dr Ellen Crushell is Dean of the Faculty of Paediatrics. She is a Consultant Paediatrician with special interest in Inherited Metabolic Disorders at Temple Street Children’s University Hospital and Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital, Crumlin. A UCC graduate, she completed her Paediatric SpR training in General Paediatrics in 2003 prior to undertaking further specialist training in Inherited Metabolic Disorders at the National Centre for Inherited Metabolic Disorders (NCIMD) and at The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids), Toronto. She has an interest in teaching and is an Associate Clinical Professor at UCD. Her clinical and research interests include infantile liver failure syndromes, homocystinuria and lysosomal storage disorders.

Our Board

We are governed by the Board of the Faculty of Paediatrics.

The Board is our ultimate decision-making body and is responsible for ensuring that the aim and functions of the Faculty are fulfilled on behalf of its members.

  • Dr Ellen Crushell, Dean, Forum Representative, and Chair of Clinical Advisory Groups
  • Dr Paul Gallagher Vice-Dean
  • Dr Judith Meehan, Honorary Secretary and interim Chair of Meetings Committee
  • Dr Norma Goggin, Honorary Treasurer
  • Dr Joanne Balfe, Chair of Community Child Health group
  • Dr Carol Blackburn, Elected Fellow Representative
  • Dr John Fitzsimons, NSD of CPSP
  • Dr Caroline Fox, Trainee Representative (HST General Paediatrics)
  • Dr Davina Healy, Associate Member Representative
  • Prof Hilary Hoey, Professional Competence Lead
  • Dr Louise Kyne, Chair of Child Protection Peer Review
  • Dr Ciara McDonnell, Associate Dean of Examinations
  • Prof Colin McMahon, Elected Fellow Representative
  • Dr David Mullane, Elected Fellow Representative
  • Dr Anne Marie Murphy, Lead NSD for HST General Paediatrics; current Chair of RCPI AVP Sub-Committee
  • Prof Alf Nicholson, Lead NSD for BST
  • Prof Clodagh O’Gorman, Chair of Meetings Committee
  • Dr Peter O’Reilly, Trainee Representative (HST General Paediatrics)
  • Dr Ethel Ryan, Elected Fellow Representative

Contact Us


Barbara Conneely

Faculty Coordinator

Tel: +353 1 863 9728

Contact Barbara for information about advocacy, business planning, admission to membership/ fellowship, subscription fees, and board of management activities for the Faculty of Paediatrics and the Institute of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists