Our Dean and Board


Professor Hilary Humphreys is Dean of the Faculty of Pathology

As Dean, Prof Hilary Humphreys is responsible for overseeing all matters of the Faculty with the support of the Faculty Board and Committees.

He represents the Faculty on the RCPI Council and on other national and international bodies.

Professor Hilary Humphreys

Dean, Faculty of Pathology

Tel: +353 1 863 9765

Prof Hilary Humphreys is Dean of the Faculty of Pathology. He has also previously served on Council as Vice President and Censor of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland. Prof Humphreys is Professor of Clinical Microbiology at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, and Consultant Microbiologist in Beaumont Hospital, Dublin.  Hilary Humphreys has a long standing research interest in hospital infection prevention and control and antibiotic resistance, including MRSA. He has chaired expert groups, including the Strategy for the control of Antimicrobial Resistance in Ireland (SARI) and working parties that have produced guidelines on MRSA in the UK and Ireland.  More recently, he has received a major research grant to determine amongst other things the benefits of universal MRSA screening and enhanced environmental decontamination.  He is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Hospital Infection and Clinical Microbiology and Infection.

Our Board

We are governed by the Board of the Faculty of Pathology.

The Board is our ultimate decision-making body and is responsible for ensuring that the aim and functions of the Institute are fulfilled on behalf of its members.

Prof Hilary Humphreys Dean
Prof Louise Burke Honorary Secretary and Dean-Elect
Dr Patrick Twomey Honorary Treasurer
Prof Kieran Sheahan Director of Education
Prof Jo Martin President of the Royal College of Pathologists, UK (Observer)
Dr Ken Mills RCPath Northern Ireland (Observer)
Dr Maeve Doyle Fellow
Dr Aurelie Fabre Fellow
Dr Clive Kilgallen Fellow
Dr John O'Dowd Fellow
Dr Joan Power Fellow
Dr Linda Mulligan Fellow
Dr Una Ní Ríain Fellow
Dr Cynthia Heffron Fellow
Dr Ronan Desmond Fellow
Dr Laura Aalto Trainee Representative
Ms Terry Prone Lay Member

Contact Us


Rita Dolan

Coordinator, Faculty of Pathology

Tel: + 353 1 863 9738

Contact Rita for queries relating to the Faculty of Pathology.