Our Dean and Board

Professor Emer Shelley is Dean of the Faculty of Public Health Medicine

As Dean, Professor Shelley is responsible for overseeing all matters of the Faculty with the support of the Faculty Board and Committees.

She represents the Faculty on the RCPI Council and on other national and international bodies.

Professor Emer Shelley

Dean of the Faculty of Public Health Medicine

Professor Emer Shelley is a member of Council and the Dean of the Faculty of Public Health Medicine. Professor Shelley is a retired Specialist in Public Health Medicine with the HSE who was based in the Department of Public Health in the East and an Honorary Clinical Associate Professor of Epidemiology at the RCSI. With a background in cardiovascular epidemiology and prevention, Professor Shelley has had a long association with the Irish Heart Foundation. In addition she has also advised on planning health services for patients with Stroke, a role she continued after the establishment of the National Clinical Programme for Stroke. Her links with the academic and voluntary sectors facilitated collaboration in research in cardiovascular epidemiology as well as on trends in demography and health service activity.

Our Board

We are governed by the Board of the Faculty of Public Health Medicine.

The Board is our ultimate decision-making body and is responsible for ensuring that the aim and functions of the Institute are fulfilled on behalf of its members.

  • Prof Emer Shelley, Dean
  • Prof Cecily Kelleher, Dean Elect
  • Dr Lorraine Doherty, Fellow
  • Dr Peter Wright, Honorary Treasurer
  • Dr Anna Clarke, Faculty Representative on Council 
  • Dr Philip Crowley, Fellow
  • Dr Mary Ward, Convenor of Examinations
  • Dr Caroline Mason Mohan, Fellow
  • Dr Mairin Boland, National Specialty Director
  • Prof Joe Barry, Fellow
  • Prof Patricia Fitzpatrick, Fellow
  • Dr Ina Kelly, Fellow
  • Dr Regina Kiernan, Fellow
  • Dr Ruth McDermott, Member
  • Dr Lourda Geoghegan, Fellow
  • Ms Janis Morrissey, Lay Representative
  • Prof Alan Baird, Lay Representative
  • Dr Teresa O' Dowd, SpR Representative

Contact Us


RCPI Helpdesk

Tel: +353 1 8639721

Contact our Helpdesk for assistance with using our online products and services. Open Monday to Friday, 9:00am - 5:00pm.