skip to main content
2023 Election Results: Congratulations to RCPI’s newly elected Councillors

2023 Election Results: Congratulations to RCPI’s newly elected Councillors

The Royal College of Physicians of Ireland (RCPI) welcomes four newly elected Ordinary Councillors to College Council. 

Professor Cathy McHugh, Professor Donal Reddan and Professor Gaye Cunnane were elected by their peers to the posts of Ordinary Councillor (Medicine), and Dr Martin Hogan was elected Ordinary Councillor (Occupational Medicine). 

Professor Cathy McHugh
Professor McHugh is a Consultant Endocrinologist at Sligo University Hospital. She served on the board of the Institute of Medicine on the RCPI Council from 2017-2022. She is also part of the MRCPI Part II examinations board, convenor of the clinical examination in Sligo, an external examiner for the MRCPI examinations abroad, and an examiner trainer. 

Professor Donal Reddan 
Professor Reddan served on Council for 10 years, from 2012 to 2022. He was Vice-President in 2014-2015 and Treasurer from 2017 to 2022. During his tenure, he served as the Education Committee's secretary and chaired the Finance Audit and Risk Committee. 

Professor Gaye Cunnane 
Professor Cunnane is a Clinical Professor of Rheumatology at St. James's Hospital and Trinity College Dublin. She has been the Director of Health and Wellbeing at the RCPI since May 2019. Previously, she was a Member of the College and led the Collegiate Members' Committee for several years as an NCHD. She then became a Fellow and served as National Specialty Director in Rheumatology for 2 consecutive terms (6 years) and Regional Programme Director for the Trinity Basic Specialist Training scheme for a further 6 years. 

Dr Martin Hogan 
Dr Hogan is a full-time specialist in Occupational Medicine. He was previously the Dean of the Faculty and also served on the College Council. He was the President of the 2018 ICOH Congress in Dublin, the largest Occupational Health event in Ireland, and currently holds the position of Vice President of ICOH. 

The RCPI Council, as the college's senior governing body, plays a vital role in ensuring its integrity and driving its mission forward. This esteemed group shapes the college's values, mission, goals, objectives, and strategic directions. They bear ultimate responsibility for RCPI's actions, decisions, and policies. 

The appointed Ordinary Councillors will have a key role in shaping the future of RCPI. Their responsibilities include understanding RCPI's strategy, business plan, and values, following rules and policies, actively participating in meetings, and volunteering for sub-committees or working groups. They will also provide oversight and constructive input when needed. 

The newly appointed Councillors join Dr Diarmuid O'Shea, who was appointed President Designate of the College earlier this year. Dr O'Shea will take up the role of RCPI President on 18 October 2023, following the tenure of Professor Mary Horgan. 

With this election process successfully concluded, the College looks forward to continuing to work collaboratively and efficiently address the evolving healthcare training needs in Ireland.