skip to main content
Faculty of Public Health Medicine Summer Scientific Meeting

Faculty of Public Health Medicine Summer Scientific Meeting

The Faculty of Public Health Medicine welcomed a full house to No. 6 Kildare Street on Tuesday 23 and Wednesday 24 May for its Summer Scientific Meeting.

Health is better than wealth or as Gaeilge Is fearr an tsláinte ná na táinte, was the theme for the two day conference which featured guest speakers, as well as oral and poster presentations.

Frontline workers provided a series of presentations on health service utilization, the impact of respiratory viruses, health service improvement, and recent insights from health protection.

Dr Elise Crayton, Faculty of Brain Sciences Disability Equity Lead and Research Fellow at the University College London (UCL) Centre for Behaviour Change lead a riveting discussion on applying behavioural science frameworks to drive change in public health behaviours.

Later we heard from Mary O’Meara, Director of Public Health, National TB Lead, and Dr Emma Roycroft, Specialist Medical Scientist at the Irish Mycobacteria Reference Laboratory in St. James’s Hospital. The explored TB clusters in Ireland, followed by a discussion chaired by Dr Anne Sheahan, Area Director of Public Health, Area D.

Dr Abigail Collins, National Clinical Lead, Child Health Public Health, and Jackie Austin, Director of Public Health Nursing, spoke about inequalities and inequities in child health, with a focus on children’s screening services, and the impact of poverty.

Dr Ina Kelly, incoming Consultant in Public Health Medicine – Environmental Health, explored climate change and the public health impact in Ireland.

The event also featured a wide array of poster presentations.

The Faculty of Public Health Medicine welcomed three new Fellows, four Collegiate Members, and five Diplomate Members, and conferred three CSCSTs.

Congratulations to our newest Members and Fellows, who join our globally connected community of doctors learning together to improve people’s health.

Congratulations to our newest Fellows of the Faculty of Public Health Medicine, Dr Paul Kavanagh, Dr Geoffrey Carrol and Prof Noel McCarthy.

Congratulations also to:

  • Dr Ciara Kelly, Collegiate Member
  • Dr David Kelly, Collegiate Member
  • Dr Philippa While, Collegiate Member
  • Dr Catherine McNicolas, Collegiate Member
  • Dr John Loughrey, Diplomate Member
  • Dr Roisin Phelan, Diplomate Member
  • Dr Carla Perrotta, Diplomate Member
  • Dr Lili Peterson, Diplomate Member
  • Dr Mary Darina Fahey, Diplomate Member
  • Dr Niamh Bambury, CSCST
  • Dr Treasa Kelleher, CSCST
  • Dr Louise Marron, CSCST