skip to main content
Faculties and Institutes

Institute of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists


Chair and Board

On this page


Our Chair

As Chair, Professor Sam Coulter-Smith is responsible for overseeing all matters of the Institute of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists with the support of our Board and Committees. ...

Prof Sam Coulter-Smith

Our Board

The Board is our ultimate decision-making body and is responsible for ensuring that the aim and functions of the Institute are fulfilled on behalf of its members.

Board Member Role
Professor Sam Coulter-Smith Chair of the Institute (Officer Role)
Dr Cliona Murphy Immediate Past Chair
Dr Sharon Cooley Honorary Treasurer (Officer Role)
Dr Donal Brennan Chair of Scientific Organising Committee
Dr Venita Broderick Trainee Advocacy Officer
Dr Richard De Courcy-Wheeler Northern Ireland Representative
Prof Sean Daly NSD
Prof Michael Gannon Midland Regional, Mullingar/ Midland General, Portlaoise Representative
Dr Michael Geary Irish Representative on RCOG Council
Prof Mary Higgins Chair of Exams Committee
Dr Paul Hughes Institute Representative for RCPI Training Site Accreditation
Dr Mendinaro Imcha University Maternity Hospital Limerick Representative
Dr Declan Keane National Maternity Hospital Representative
Dr Etaoin Kent Co-NSD (BST)
Dr Nicolette Kroon Private Hospitals Representative
Prof Fergal Malone Rotunda Hospital Representative
Dr Brendan McDonnell Associate Member Representative
Dr Azriny Khalid Co-NSD (BST)
Dr Keelin O’Donoghue Co-NSD (HST); CUMH/ Kerry General/ South Tipp Hospital Representative
Dr Michael F. O'Hare Chairman of Joint IOG/ HSE Working Group on Maternal Death Enquiry (MDE Ireland)
Dr Suzanne O'Sullivan Director of Training; IOG Representative on RCPI Advisory Committee
Dr Nikhil Purandare University College Hospital Galway / Portiuncula / Mayo General Representative
Dr Lorna Roe Lay Person
Dr Nóirín Russell CUMH/ Kerry General/ South Tipp Hospital Representative
Dr Gillian Ryan Trainee Representative (member of JOGS Committee)
Dr Etop Sampson OLOL Drogheda/ Cavan General Hospital Representative
Dr Vimla Sharma Sligo General/ Letterkenny General Representative
Dr John Stratton St Luke's Kilkenny/ Wexford General/ Waterford Univeristy Hospital Representative
Dr Aoife O’Neill The Coombe Hospital Representative
Dr Sam Thomas Institute Representative on RCPI Education & Quality Committee; Chair of the Specialist Education & Research Committee; Institute Representative for Professional Competence
Dr Claire Thompson RCOG Representative
Ms Caoimhe Daly Lay Person



Contact Us

Contact the Institute of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists through the RCPI Helpdesk:

Tel: +353 1 863 9721