skip to main content
National Immunisation Advisory Committee (NIAC)

About Us


Who We Are

An introduction to NIAC's members and their roles within the organisation.


NIAC Members and Roles

Dr Siobhan O'Sullivan Chair

Nominating Organisation Nominee
Royal College of Physicians of Ireland (RCPI) Nomination pending
Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI)

Professor Brian Cleary, Associate Professor, School of Pharmacy and Biomolecular Sciences, RCSI

Alternate: Dr Michelle Flood

Irish College of General Practitioners (ICGP)

Dr Patrick Kelly, General Practitioner

Interim: Dr Scott Walkin, General Practitioner

Faculty of Occupational Medicine, RCPI Dr Conor McDonnell, Consultant Occupational Health Physician
Faculty of Paediatrics, RCPI Dr Edina Moylett, Consultant Paediatrician
Faculty of Pathology, RCPI Dr Patrick Stapleton, Consultant Microbiologist
Faculty of Public Health Medicine, RCPI Dr Mary Ward, Director of Public Health
Institute of Medicine, RCPI Dr Eavan Muldoon, Consultant in Infectious Diseases
Institute of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists, RCPI Dr Cliona Murphy, Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist
Health Protection Surveillance Centre (HPSC) Dr Lisa Domegan, Principal Epidemiologist
Infectious Diseases Society of Ireland (IDSI) Dr Corinna Sadlier, Consultant in Infectious Diseases

Alternate: Dr Cathal O’Broin, Consultant in Infectious Diseases and General Internal Medicine
National Immunisation Office (NIO) Dr Lucy Jessop, Director of Public Health

Alternate: Dr Aparna Keegan, Specialist in Public Health Medicine
Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland Ms Essene Cassidy, Registered Children's, General and Public Health Nurse
Ethicist Dr Siobhán O’Sullivan, Executive Director, Royal Irish Academy
Travel Medicine Society of Ireland Dr Astrid Weidenhammer
National Virus Reference Laboratory (NVRL) Dr Cillian De Gascun, Director NVRL
Co-opted Member Dr Kevin Kelleher, Retired Assistant National Director for Public Health and Child Health HSE
Lay Member Dr Ciara Keane, PhD, MBA
Lay Member Professor Alan Baird, Full Professor of Veterinary Physiology and Biology, UCD
Department of Health Northern Ireland Nomination pending

Dr Colette Bonner, Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health 

Dr Áine McNamara, HSE

Dr Niamh Ennis, Medical Officer, Health Products Regulatory Authority

Also in Attendance

Interim Clinical Lead: Dr Bryony Treston

Special Advisor: Dr Fiona Cullinane

Special Advisor: Dr Helena Murray

Special Advisor: Professor Corinna Sadlier

Medical Secretary: Professor Patricia Kearney, Specialist Registrar in Public Health Medicine

Programme Manager: Dr Melissa Jones, PhD, RCPI

Programme Coordinator: Grace Horan, RCPI

Technical Researcher: Gillian Walsh