skip to main content
Training Programmes

Get Involved


RCPI Trainees Committee



The RCPI Trainees Committee is the ‘voice’ of Trainees in RCPI. We represent Trainees on RCPI Council, the Advisory Committee and the Examinations Committee. We are also actively involved in the Steering Group for Retaining Medical Talent in Ireland, the EU Working Time Directive and numerous other working groups.

The RCPI Trainees Committee has always had an active interest in postgraduate specialist training and acts as an important interface between Trainees and RCPI. Our goal is to represent Trainees’ interests and work towards improving training.

We are also responsible for the organisation of the following awards and prizes:

  • The Corrigan Medal
  • The David Mitchell Award
  • The William Stokes Award
  • The Kate McGarry Prize
  • The Trainer of the Year Award

Find out more about the Trainee Awards

Every year we host National Education Day for Doctors in Training, the highlight event of the RCPI Trainee Calendar. At the annual event, Trainees showcase their excellence in research, case study and clinical audit, whilst learning from leaders in health and social care, technology and other areas of interest.

This year's National Education Day for Doctors in Training will take place on Friday, 24 May 2024. You can revisit the 2023 events here.



RCPI Trainees Committee Members

Role Name
Chair Dr Emily Buckley
Vice-Chair Dr Alessandra Biagini
Examinations Committee Representative  Dr Brian Murphy
Library Committee & Awards Representative Dr Fergal Howley
Institute of Medicine Board Trainee Representative (HST) Dr Sean Donohue
Institute of Medicine Education & Training Committee Trainee Representative (HST) Dr Niamh Boyle
International Trainee Representative  Dr Merah Al Busaidy
Communications and Digital Project Representative - HST Dr Sarah Murphy
Communications and Digital Project Representative - BST Dr Nur Idris
Paediatrics Forum Representatives (2 required)

Dr Sarah Cavallari

Dr Alwyn Charles

Obstetrics & Gynaecology Forum Representatives (2 required)

Dr Claudia Condon

Dr Daniel Kane

Histopathology Forum Representative Dr Tahmina Gul
Public Health Forum Representative Dr Ann Marie Murray
Occupational Health Forum Representative Dr Claire Rooney
BST GIM Representative

Dr Junaid Awan

BST Obstetrics & Gynaecology Representative

Dr Sarah Kelly

BST Paediatrics Representative Dr Molly McGuckin
BST Histopathology Representative Dr Cian Ward
Physician's Health & Wellbeing Committee Chair Dr Patrick Carr
Physician Health and Wellbeing Deputy Chair Dr Maria McWalter

RCPI Trainees Committee Roles

pdf document
Trainees Committee Roles

Size: 204KB Type: pdf


Joining the Trainees Committee

Who can join the RCPI Trainees Committee?
Both Trainees in Basic Specialist Training and Trainees in Higher Specialist Training can join the committee.

How do I join?
The RCPI Trainees Committee recruits now members each year. New members are voted in by Trainees.

Applications for the RCPI Trainees Committee 2024/2025 are now open. Please apply here.

The Trainees Committee members for 2024/2025 will be announced at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) which takes place on Thursday, 27 June 2024. You can register for the AGM here. Please note, registration will close on 17 June 2024 at 5 pm.

"The Trainees Committee serves as a vital link, facilitating communication between Trainees and the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland. Our role involves championing Trainee interests within the college while also effectively sharing RCPI's important messages and information with Trainees."

Dr Emily Buckley, Chair of the RCPI Trainees Committee

If you’re interested in getting involved or would just like further information about us, please get in touch by emailing us at