Distinguished Awards announced at Inaugural Institute of Medicine Summer Symposium

Congratulations to the winners of Awards announced at Inaugural Institute of Medicine Summer Symposium

The inaugural Institute of Medicine Summer Symposium took place on 1 July 2021. Livestreamed to hundreds of viewers from Number 6 Kildare Street, the home of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland, the Symposium was chaired by Prof Anthony O’Regan, Dean of the Institute of Medicine.

Part of the programme was a special online event to welcome Dr Jeffrey Drazen, Editor, New England Journal of Medicine Group as the newest Honorary Fellow of the College. Read more about Dr Drazen's achievements and watch back his Honorary Fellowship here.

Another special guest was Dr Mike Ryan, Executive Director, WHO Emergencies Programme. Dr Ryan took part in the John Stearne Lecture. In conversation with Prof Anthony O'Regan, Dr Ryan spoke about living with a pandemic, the lessons learned and future considerations such as readiness for pandemics, access to healthcare and the skill sets of physicians. Dr Ryan's full conversation with Prof O'Regan is available to watch back here.

Finally, President Prof Mary Horgan and the Dean and board members of the Institute of Medicine held a very special virtual graduation ceremony. This online ceremony was a celebration of those doctors who have completed Higher Specialist Training or an International Clinical Fellowship Programme. The ceremony is available to watch back here.

Prof Anthony O’Regan, Dean of the Institute of Medicine
Prof Geraldine McCarthy

The Bryan Alton Medal

Presented to Prof Geraldine McCarthy, Consultant Rheumatologist, Mater Misericordiae University Hospital

The Bryan Alton Medal was presented to Prof Geraldine McCarthy MD, FRCPI Consultant Rheumatologist Mater Misericordiae University Hospital Dublin and Full Clinical Professor of Medicine University College Dublin, Ireland, in recognition of her contribution to clinical and academic medicine. 

Geraldine McCarthy graduated in Medicine from University College Dublin, National University of Ireland. She received her Fellowship in Rheumatology at the Medical College of Wisconsin where she developed her interest in calcium crystal deposition diseases. Her research has focused on the biological effects of calciumcontaining crystals in degenerative joint disease as well as in atherosclerosis and breast cancer and has been funded by many sources including the National Institutes of Health, Arthritis Foundation, American Federation for Aging Research, US Department of Defence and the Wellcome Trust. She was promoted to Associate Professor of Medicine at the Medical College of Wisconsin in 1996 where she remained until her return to Dublin, Ireland. She was appointed Consultant in Rheumatology at the Mater Misericordiae University Hospital and Cappagh National Orthopedic Hospital Dublin in 1999 where she continues to run a busy clinical practice and a clinical research program.


Presented to Dr Tim Beringer and Dr Diarmiud O'Shea

Dr Tim Beringer and Dr Diarmiud O'Shea were awarded with Distinguished Career Awards in recognition of their work with the Institute of Medicine and the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland.

Dr Tim Berringer was Chair of the Part II General Medicine Exam Board from August 2008 until November 2019. One of the key achievements of Dr Beringer as Chair of the Part II Written board was changing the format of the Part II in 2009. The MRCPI Part II General Medicine Written Examination moved to a completely ‘Best of Many’ format in the Spring of 2009. Previously, this Examination was composed of three papers; one of which was a ‘Best of Many’ paper, alongside Data Interpretation and Case History style questions. Dr Beringer added questions to the question bank, reviewing them and ensuring the exam standard and the integrity of the exam was maintained to ensure it met with international best practice.

Dr Diarmuid O’Shea served as the National Specialty Director in Geriatric Medicine from 2000 to 2004, and he was elected to the RCPI council in 2007. With the staff in the RCPI he developed the RCPI Masterclass Series and was the Masterclass Series Convenor from its inception in 2007. He served as the RCPI Vice-President of Education and Professional Development, a role he stepped down from in 2014 when he was appointed to the position of Registrar of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland. He served as Chair of the Irish Committee on Higher Medical Training from 2017 to 2019. He was the Clinical Lead for the National Clinical Programme for Older People from the start of the National Clinical Progammes initiative between the HSE and the RCPI from 2010 to 2019. He served as President of the Irish Gerontological Society from 2017 to 2020. While he has completed his term as Registrar of the Royal College of Physicians in 2020, he continues his active commitment to college and all it is continuing to do on behalf of our trainees, members and fellows.

Dr Tim Beringer and Dr Diarmiud O'Shea
The awards presented to our National Speciality Directors

National Speciality Director Awards

The Summer Symposium concluded with the awarding of a special set of awards in recognition of the College's National Speciality Directors. Each specialty has a National Specialty Director (NSD) who actively leads the development and delivery of training in their specialty. Images from the Royal College of Physicians collections were used as awards for these inspiring physicians. We were delighted that some of the recipients were able to attend on the day to receive their awards in person; you can see their photos in the gallery below. The full list of National Speciality Director Awards winners was:

     Prof Sean Kennelly, Assoc Dir HST/GIM
     Prof Mike Watts, General Internal Medicine
     Dr Maureen Connolly, Dermatology
     Dr Trevor Markham, Dermatology
     Prof Colm Bergin, Infectious Diseases
     Dr Eimear Smith, Rehabilitation Medicine
     Dr Paul Gallagher, Geriatric Medicine
     Dr Bob Rutherford, Respiratory Medicine
     Prof Greg Pastores, Clinical Genetics
     Dr Marie Twomey, Palliative Medicine
     Dr Jim Crowley, Cardiology
     Prof Brendan McAdam, Cardiology
     Dr Mary Teeling, Pharmaceutical Medicine

Ian Tracy

Communications Executive

Tel: +353 86 796 5186

For general press enquiries, contact Ian in our Communications Department.