COVID-19 pandemic: Please check our latest statements and the pandemic’s impact on core activities by clicking here

Public Health Medicine prize winners announced!

Traffic Medicine.

Recognising excellence in communication and research

We are delighted to announce the 2019 winners of the following Public Health Medicine prizes!

The prizes were awarded at the Faculty of Public Health Medicine's Summer Scientific Meeting on 30 May 2019.

Best Oral Presentation

  • First Prize and winner of the Zachary Johnson Medal: Dr Treasa Kelleher, first-year Higher Specialist Training in Public Health Medicine, for her presentation Protective factors for incident depression in older adults with multimorbidity: results from The Irish Longitudinal Study on Ageing (TILDA) 
  • Second Prize: Dr Mary O'Meara, Specialist in the Department of Public Health, HSE East, for her presentation Congenital tuberculosis in a neonate: a diagnostic conundrum

Best Three Minute Magic presentation

  • First Prize: Ms Melissa Brady, Surveillance Scientist at the Health Protection Surveillance Centre in Dublin, for her presentation Prevalence of transmitted HIV drug resistance: national pilot study 
  • Second Prize: Dr Carol Barron, Assistant Professor in the School of Nursing and Human Sciences in DCU, for her presentation Physically active play and recreational needs of children and young people in Kildare: its relevance to overall health and well-being

Best Poster

  • First Prize: Dr Anne O'Farrell, research epidemiologist/biostatistician, for her poster Factors associated with regular consumption of sugar-sweetened drinks among the adult population of Ireland. A baseline study pre-introduction of the sugar-sweetened drinks tax
  • Second Prize: Dr Therese Mooney, Head of the Programme Evaluation Unit (PEU) at the National Screening Service, for her poster A multi-faceted intervention to improve BowelScreen uptake among initial invitees in Ireland
Melissa Brady receiving her prize for best Three Minute Magic presentation from Professor Emer Shelley
Dr Treasa Kelleher being presented with the Zachary Johnson medal by Dr Howard Johnson and Professor Emer Shelley
Dr Christopher Carroll and Dr Celia O'Hare, with Dr Mairin Boland, National Specialty Director, who won a contribution from the HSE National Doctors Training and Planning Unit fund to attend the European Public Health Association meeting in Marseilles next November

Book of Abstracts

Read the book of abstracts for the 2019 Faculty of Public Health Medicine Summer Scientific Meeting