Ms Emily Logan, Chief Commissioner IHREC and Professor Flaura Winston awarded Honorary Fellowship of the Faculty of Paediatrics

Congratulations to all.

At its autumn admissions ceremony on Friday, 11 October, the Faculty of Paediatrics welcomed the following:

  • 2 Honorary Fellows
  • 25 Fellows
  • 4 Members
  • 12 Collegiate Members
  • 14 CSCST recipients (Certificate of Satisfactory Completion of Specialist Training)
l-r Dr Paul Oslizlok, citator; Ms Emily Logan, Hon Fellow, Faculty of Paediatrics; Prof Mary Horgan, RCPI President, Dr Ellen Crushell, Dean, Faculty of Paediatrics

Ms Emily Logan

Honorary Fellow, Faculty of Paediatrics

Emily Logan is the first Chief Commissioner of the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission appointed by President Michael D Higgins on 31 October 2014, following an open competition.

On behalf of the Commission she serves as Chair of the European Network of National Human Rights Institutions (ENNHRI) representing forty-four national human rights bodies across Council of Europe Member States, having been elected by ENNHRI members in October 2018. She is also serves on the Executive of the Global Alliance of National Human Rights Institutions (GANHRI).

She was recently (in September 2019) appointed as Adjunct Full Professor in University College Dublin, assigned to the School of Law.

On delivering his citation for Ms Logan, Dr Paul Oslizlok said, "Apart from her innate warmth and generous nature, and her deep sense of justice, Emily’s outstanding career has been underpinned by broad academic excellence."

l-r Prof Flaura Winston, Hon Fellow, Faculty of Paediatrics; Prof Mary Horgan, RCPI President

Dr Flaura Winston

Honorary Fellow, Faculty of Paediatrics

Dr Flaura Koplin Winston, MD, PhD is a board-certified pediatrician, a doctorally-trained engineer and a public health researcher who conducts research at the interface of child and adolescent health, injury, engineering and behavioral science. Dr. Winston’s work is published in peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings and focuses on the area of traffic injury. Her research to action to impact approach and pragmatic rigor has led to patents and a focus on evidence-based digital health to improve health outcomes.

Dr Winston is the Distinguished Chair in the Department of Pediatrics at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and serves as the Scientific Director of the Center for Child Injury Prevention Studies (CChIPS), a National Science Foundation Industry/University Cooperative Research Center, and Director of a National Science Foundation Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) site. In 2017, she was elected to the National Academy of Medicine.

Dr Winston has been an esteemed guest speaker at previous Traffic Medicine conferences at RCPI, captivating audiences with her expertise and experience working in the area of teen driving, with a particular focus on ADHD and driving. She delivered the 23rd Ralph Counahan Memorial Lecture on Paediatrics, Adolescent Medicine and Traffic Medicine.

Dr Michael Barrett (citator) spoke of Dr Winston's ability to see the bigger picture, "She is living proof that the organisational talents and mindset of an Engineer is bountiful in the Medical profession.  She demonstrates an ability to see the big picture: The importance of the issue, the evidence, relationships, interfaces, commonalities, commercial, economic, legislature, partnerships, the advocates, the doctor, the parents and the young person."